Wednesday, February 4, 2009

Tea Time Mysteries

Dead As A Scone and The Final Crumpet have been on my bookshelf for some time. A week without power prevented me from doing laundry, household chores, being on the computer, and watching any TV, so it seemed the perfect time to pick up one of these to read.

These books are written by Ron and Janet Benrey and are the first two in the Royal Tunbridge Wells Mystery series set in a fictional tea museum in Kent, England. I read Dead As A Scone, the first book in the series. It centers around the death of Dame Elspeth who fell over dead in the middle of a museum board meeting just before she could reveal the name of a thief who is among the board of trustees.

Our family stayed in Kent for a week in 2002 and visited Royal Tunbridge Wells, therefore, I enjoyed reading about familiar places. I was very pleased with the amount of basic tea tea facts and information/education included throughout the book as the very British Nigel Owen, coffee drinker and acting director of the tea museum, and Flick Adams, American tea curator, work to solve the crime. And, there was just a little bit of romance among the many cups of tea consumed.

I am anxious to begin reading The Final Crumpet to see what happens next!

You can find information about these books here.


bennie and patsy said...

What wonderdful things ,Tea you have I will try to read these books Thanks

Paula said...

Wow! I had no idea such books existed. You find the neatest things!

Brit' Gal Sarah said...

TW is a very nice place to visit, Kent generally is lovely. The book sounds like fun.

Angela McRae said...

I too have read the first book, so please post a review if you think the next one is just as good! Thanks!


Design by Custom Blog Designs/FreeStyleMama Creations